BAFTA 2022 Nominations: Dune & The Power Of The Dog Lead This Year’s Nominees

2022 BAFTAs

by Sophie Butcher |
Updated on

After last year's awards season tackled incessant cinema closures and release date pushbacks, in 2022, we get to look back at a year that saw theatres stay open, and where audiences could consistently enjoy the experience of seeing great films on the big screen again.

That big screen experience was vital for 2022's most BAFTA-nominated film, Denis Villeneuve's Dune. After an agonising wait, the much-anticipated adaptation of Frank Herbert's sci-fi epic finally arrived in cinemas late last year, receiving acclaim from critics and audiences alike for its wondrous world-building, Denis' directorial vision, and, of course, the space bagpipes. Dune topped Empire's list of the best films of 2021, and has now scored a cracking 11 BAFTA nominations, including Best Film, Adapted Screenplay, Score (for the GOAT Hans Zimmer), Cinematography (for Greig Fraser) and a number of noms in the technical categories.

Next highest nominated is the legendary Jane Campion's sweeping, simmering Western The Power Of The Dog, which received 8 nominations and is streaming on Netflix now. It joins Dune in the Best Film category, as well as a Best Leading Actor nod for Benedict Cumberbatch, two Best Supporting Actor noms for Jesse Plemons and Kodi Smit-McPhee (also up for the public-voted EE Rising Star Award), and a director nod for Campion herself.

Other big hitters were Kenneth Branagh's semi-autobiographical Belfast, which received 6 nominations, as well as Paul Thomas Anderson's 70s-set young romance Licorice Pizza, Daniel Craig's farewell to 007 No Time To Die, and Steven Spielberg's musical debut West Side Story, all of which scored 5 nominations each.

Films not in the English language did well – Renate Reinsve got a Best Leading Actress nod for romantic drama The Worst Person In The World, and Julia Ducournau popped up in the Best Director category for Titane, as did Ryûsuke Hamaguchi for Drive My Car.

There are some notable omissions, though – there's no recognition for Andrew Garfield for his turn as Jonathan Larson in Netflix's Tick, Tick... BOOM!, Kristen Stewart for embodying the people's princess in Spencer, or Denzel for Joel Coen's The Tragedy Of Macbeth. And, despite Dune being the most nominated film, Denis Villeneuve isn't included in the Best Director category.

The list is a (mostly) strong follow-up to 2021's rich and diverse list, covering a good spread of the films that made the past 12 months a standout one for cinema. Tune in on 13 March to see who bags the biggest gongs – and check out the full list of nominees below.

The Full List Of Nominees:

Best Film


Don't Look Up


Licorice Pizza

The Power Of The Dog

Outstanding British Film

After Love

Ali & Ava


Boiling Point


Everybody's Talking About Jamie

House Of Gucci

Last Night In Soho

No Time To Die


Best Leading Actress

Lady Gaga – House Of Gucci

Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza

Emilia Jones – CODA

Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person In The World

Joanna Scanlan – After Love

Tessa Thompson – Passing

Best Leading Actor

Adeel Akhtar – Ali & Ava

Mahershala Ali – Swan Song

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power Of The Dog

Leonardo DiCaprio – Don't Look Up

Stephen Graham – Boiling Point

Will Smith – King Richard

Best Supporting Actress

Caitríona Balfe – Belfast

Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter

Ariana DeBose – West Side Story

Ann Dowd – Mass

Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard

Ruth Negga – Passing

Best Supporting Actor

Mike Faist – West Side Story

Ciarán Hinds – Belfast

Troy Kotsur – CODA

Woody Norman – C'mon C'mon

Jesse Plemons – The Power Of The Dog

Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power Of The Dog

Best Director

Aleem Khan – After Love

Ryûsuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car

Audrey Diwan – Happening

Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza

Jane Campion – The Power Of The Dog

Julia Ducournau – Titane

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer

After Love – Aleem Khan (writer/director)

Boiling Point – James Cummings (writer) and Hester Ruoff (producer)

The Harder They Fall – Jeymes Samuel (writer/director)

Keyboard Fantasies – Posy Dixon (writer/director) and Liv Proctor (producer)

Passing – Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Film Not In The English Language

Drive My Car

The Hand Of God

Parallel Mothers

Petite Maman

The Worst Person In The World

Best Documentary

Becoming Costeau



The Rescue

Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Best Animated Film




The Mitchells Vs. The Machines

Best Original Screenplay

Being The Ricardos – Aaron Sorkin

Belfast – Kenneth Branagh

Don't Look Up – Adam McKay

King Richard – Zach Baylin

Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson

Best Adapted Screenplay

CODA - Siân Heder

Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi

Dune - Eric Roth, John Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve

The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Power Of The Dog – Jane Campion

Best Original Score

Being The Ricardos – Daniel Pemberton

Don't Look Up – Nicholas Britell

Dune - Hans Zimmer

The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat

The Power Of The Dog – Johnny Greenwood

Best Cinematography

Dune – Greig Fraser

Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen

No Time To Die – Linus Sandgren

The Power Of The Dog – Ari Wegner

The Tragedy Of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Costume Design

Cruella – Jenny Beavan

Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini

Dune – Robert Morgan & Jacqueline West

The French Dispatch – Milena Canonero

Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira

Best Editing

Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle

Dune – Joe Walker

Licorice Pizza – Andy Jurgensen

No Time To Die – Tom Cross, Elliot Graham

Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Joshua L. Pearson

Best Production Design

Cyrano – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Dune – Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos

The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau

West Side Story – Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

Best Makeup And Hair

Cruella – Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne

Cyrano – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller

Dune – Love Larson, Donal Mowat

The Eyes Of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh

House Of Gucci – Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

Best Sound

Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett

Last Night In Soho – Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan

No Time To Die – James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor

A Quiet Place Part II – Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn

West Side Story – Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Best Special Visual Effects

Dune – Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer

Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick

Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro

The Matrix Resurrections – Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwaim

No Time To Die – Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

Best Casting

Boiling Point – Carolyn McLeod

Dune – Francine Maisler

The Hand Of God – Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco

King Richard – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman

West Side Story – Cindy Tolan

Best British Short Film

The Black Cop


The Palace


Three Meetings Of The Extraordinary Committee

Best British Short Animation

Affairs Of The Art

Do Not Feed The Pigeons

Night Of The Living Dread

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Ariana DeBose

Harris Dickinson

Lashana Lynch

Millicent Simmonds

Kodi Smit-McPhee

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us