Underworld 5 reveals its title

Kate Beckinsale in Underworld: Awakening

by Owen Williams |
Published on
Underworld: Blood Wars teaser poster

We couldn't quite believe that Underworld: Next Generation was really the title. And so it's proved: that turns out just to have been a placeholder moniker for the fifth movie in the vampires vs. werewolves franchise. Its official name from this point onwards is Underworld: Blood Wars.

Kate Beckinsale, Theo James, Tobias Menzies and Lara Pulver are the confirmed cast members so far, although the plot remains under wraps. We know Menzies is a new werewolf leader, and beyond that it's fairly natural to assume that Blood Wars will pick up from the end of Underworld: Awakening, where Beckinsale's Selene was still on the trail of the missing hybrid Michael. And as that "Next Generation" suggested, the word on the street is that the film will continue the handover to the younger cast members, like James' David.

Cory Goodman (The Last Witch Hunter) wrote the screenplay, said to be "expanding the mythology". Anna Foerster (Outlander) is the director; original Underworld mindermast Len Wiseman remains a producer; and shooting took place in the Czech Republic last autumn. Underworld: Blood Wars will be out in October.

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us