BAFTAs 2014: The Winners In Full

It's a good night for Gravity and 12 Years A Slave

Alfonso Cuaron and David Heyman, BAFTA winners for Gravity

by Ben Kirby |
Published on

The 2014 EE British Academy Film Awards took place on a surprisingly dry and pleasant evening at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, and it was a night without too many surprises.

The big winner of the evening - both in numbers and in spirit - was Gravity, with a grand total of 6 awards. It won Outstanding British Film for producers David Heyman and Alfonso Cuaron, as well as gongs for Best Director, Cinematography, Sound, Original Music and Special Visual Effects.

But the main award of the evening, Best Film, went to 12 Years A Slave, which also captured Best Actor courtesy of Chiwetel Ejiofor.

The Full List Of Winners

Though the film didn't take home the big prizes, the feel-good triumph was surely Barkhad Abdi, who won Best Supporting Actor for Captain Phillips.

American Hustle got the BAFTA for Original Screenplay, and deservedly took home Best Hair & Make Up, so all those tiny hair curlers and comb-over wigs didn't go to waste. Elsewhere in the more aesthetic categories, The Great Gatsby had a good run, winning for both Production Design and Costume Design. Best Editing went to Rush, with Ron Howard accepting the gong on behalf of his regular editors Dan Hanley and Mike Hill.

Joshua Oppenheimer won Best Documentary for his extraordinary film, The Act Of Killing, and took the opportunity to speak out about the Indonesian genocide.

Two wins, however, were no surprise at all, given they were pre-announced. Peter Greenaway was awarded a BAFTA for Outstanding Contribution to British Film, while Dame Helen Mirren received the Academy Fellowship.

Stephen Fry did an admirable job as the bearded master of cermonies, entertaining the absurdly famous and beautiful audience with his soothing, tweed-infused tones. No Gervais-esque controversies to be found here, people, though he did take the opportunity to flirt with Leonardo DiCaprio, Sam Claflin and Douglas Booth. But if we're honest, who wouldn't?

You can read our minute-by-minute accounts of tonight's ceremony and the red carpet, where you'll see our real-time thoughts and terrible jokes about tonight's winners, losers and wardrobe malfunctions (maybe).

The full list of nominees and winners is below.


12 Years A Slave

American Hustle

Captain Phillips





Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom



Saving Mr. Banks

The Selfish Giant


**Kieran Evans (Director/Writer) Kelly + Victor

Colin Carberry (Writer), Glenn Patterson (Writer) Good Vibrations

Kelly Marcel (Writer) Saving Mr. Banks

Paul Wright (Director/Writer), Polly Stokes (Producer) For Those in Peril

Scott Graham (Director/Writer) Shell


**Alfonso Cuarón - *Gravity

*Steve McQueen - 12 Years A Slave

David O. Russell - American Hustle

Paul Greengrass - Captain Phillips

Martin Scorsese - The Wolf Of Wall Street


Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell - American Hustle

Woody Allen - Blue Jasmine

Alfonso Cuarón, Jonás Cuarón - Gravity

Joel Coen, Ethan Coen - Inside Llewyn Davis

Bob Nelson - Nebraska


**Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope - *Philomena

*John Ridley - 12 Years A Slave

Richard LaGravenese - Behind The Candelabra

Billy Ray - Captain Phillips

Terence Winter - The Wolf Of Wall Street


**Chiwetel Ejiofor - *12 Years a Slave

*Bruce Dern - Nebraska

Christian Bale - American Hustle

Leonardo DiCaprio - The Wolf of Wall Street

Tom Hanks - Captain Phillips


**Cate Blanchett - *Blue Jasmine

*Amy Adams - American Hustle

Emma Thompson - Saving Mr. Banks

Judi Dench - Philomena

Sandra Bullock - Gravity


Barkhad Abdi - Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper - American Hustle

Daniel Bruhl - Rush

Matt Damon - Behind the Candelabra

Michael Fassbender - 12 Years a Slave


Jennifer Lawrence - American Hustle

Julia Roberts - August: Osage County

Lupita Nyong'o - 12 Years a Slave

Oprah Winfrey - The Butler

Sally Hawkins - Blue Jasmine


The Great Beauty

The Act Of Killing

Blue Is The Warmest Colour

Metro Manila



The Act Of Killing

The Armstrong Lie


Tim's Vermeer

We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks



Despicable Me 2

Monsters University


**Gravity - *Steven Price

*12 Years A Slave - Hans Zimmer

The Book Thief - John Williams

Captain Phillips - Henry Jackman

Saving Mr. Banks -* Thomas Newman*


**Gravity - *Emmanuel Lubezki

*12 Years A Slave - Sean Bobbitt

Captain Phillips - Barry Ackroyd

Inside Llewyn Davis - Bruno Delbonnel

Nebraska - Phedon Papamichael


**Rush - *Dan Hanley, Mike Hill

*12 Years A Slave - Joe Walker

Captain Phillips - Christopher Rouse

Gravity - Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger

The Wolf Of Wall Street -* Thelma Schoonmaker*


**The Great Gatsby - *Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn

*12 Years A Slave - *Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker

*American Hustle - Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler

Behind The Candelabra - Howard Cummings

Gravity - Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woodlard


**The Great Gatsby - *Catherine Martin

*American Hustle - Michael Wilkinson

Behind The Candelabra - E**llen Mirojnick

The Invisible Woman - Michael O’Connor

Saving Mr. Banks - Daniel Orlandi


American Hustle - Evelyne Noraz, Lori McCoy-Bell

Behind The Candelabra - Kate Biscoe, Marie Larkin

The Butler -* Debra Denson, Beverly Jo Pryor, Candace Neal*

The Great Gatsby - Maurizio Silvi, Kerry Warn

The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug - Peter Swords King, Richard Taylor, Rick Findlater


**Gravity - *Glenn Freemantle, Skip Lievsay, Christopher Benstead, Niv Adiri, Chris Munro

All Is Lost - Richard Hymns, Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor, Micah Bloomberg, Gillian Arthur*

Captain Phillips - *Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro, Oliver Tarney *

Inside Llewyn Davis - *Peter F. Kurland, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff

RUSH Danny Hambrook, Martin Steyer, Stefan Korte, Markus Stemler, Frank Kruse*


Gravity - *Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk, Neil Corbould, Nikki Penny *

The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug - *Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds *

Iron Man 3 - *Bryan Grill, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick *

Pacific Rim - *Hal Hickel, John Knoll, Lindy De Quattro, Nigel Sumner *

Star Trek Into Darkness - Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton, Patrick Tubach, Roger Guyett


Sleeping With The Fishes

Everything I Can See From Here

I Am Tom Moody


**Room 8

Island Queen

Keeping Up With The Joneses

Orbit Ever After

Sea View

THE EE RISING STAR AWARD (voted for by the public)

Will Poulter

Dane DeHaan

George McKay

Lupita Nyong'o

Lea Seydoux

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us