Matthew Macfadyen, Jamie Demetriou, Sophie Willan And More Win At The BAFTA TV Awards

Matthew Macfadyen, Jamie Demetriou, Sophie Willan

by James White |
Posted on

The BAFTA TV Awards were handed out at the Royal Festival Hall in London, with Richard Ayoade hosting the first in person event in three years. And among the winners? Succession's Matthew Macfadyen, Stath Lets Flats' Jamie Demetriou, and Alma's Not Normal's Sophie Willan.

Macfadyen was took Supporting Actor for the sharp-tongued drama comedy, though the show itself lost the International Award to Barry Jenkins' The Underground Railroad.

Demetriou won Male Performance In A Comedy Programme, beating out the likes of Ncuti Gatwa, though the latter had plenty to celebrate of his own.

As for Willan, the Alma's Not Normal star won Female Performance In A Comedy Programme. Jimmy McGovern's Time was named Mini Series, (which also nabbed Leading Actor for Sean Bean) with Kayleigh Llewellyn's In My Skin winning Drama Series.

Jodie Comer added Leading Actress to her awards haul for pandemic-set drama Help, with Holly Walsh's Motherland nabbing Scripted Comedy. There was a surprise in the Single Drama category as lockdown drama Together won Single Drama over the likes of Help. That show's Cathy Tyson, however, won Supporting Actress.

For the full list of winners, head to BAFTA's site, including awards voted for by the public.

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us