Cars Runs Away With Annies

Other Animation Awards are Flushed Away

Cars Runs Away With Annies

by Willow Green |
Published on

Just in case you're currently feeling deprived of Hollywood awards ceremonies, we have, for your pleasure, one more. Yes, the 24th Annual Annie Awards, for the best and brightest in animation, were held last night, and Cars walked off with the top prize - but Flushed Away took more of the awards.

Cars picked up Best Animated Feature and Best Music, Feature for Randy Newman. John Lasseter, picking up the top award, called this a "banner year for animation" while host Tom Kenny noted that, "Pixar did what Ford and General Motors couldn't this year - made money off of cars."

But the biggest haul went to Flushed Away, which isn't even nominated for Best Animated Film at the Oscars. Still, it can take some consolation from the five awards here - Animated Effects; Feature Character Animation; Feature Production Design; Feature Voice Acting, Ian McKellen; and Feature Writing.

Another Dreamworks' film, Over the Hedge, nabbed another three - Feature Character Design; Feature Directing, for Karey Fitzpatrick and Tim Johnson and Feature Storyboarding.

So it was a good night for Pixar, but perhaps less good than they've come to expect at these awards, and with Shrek 3 up against Pixar's Ratatouille this year, they can expect to share next year's haul with Dreamworks as well.

Here's the full list of winners:


**Animated Feature

**"Cars," Pixar Animation Studios

**Home Entertainment Production

**"Bambi II," DisneyToon Studios

Animated Short

"No Time for Nuts," Blue Sky Studios

**Animated TV Commercial

**United Airlines, "Dragon," Duck Studios

Animated TV Production

"Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends," Cartoon Network Studios

Animated Videogame

"Flushed Away the Game," D3 Publisher of America


Animated Effects

Scott Cegielski, "Flushed Away," DreamWorks Animation & Aardman Features

**Character Animation (Feature)

**Gabe Hordos, "Flushed Away," DreamWorks Animation & Aardman Features

Character Animation, TV

Yu Jae Myung, "Avatar" (The Blind Bandit), Nickelodeon

Character Design, Feature

Nicolas Marlet, "Over the Hedge," DreamWorks Animation

Character Design, TV

Mike Kunkel, "The Life & Times of Juniper Lee" (Party Monsters), Cartoon Network Studios

Directing. Feature

Tim Johnson & Karey Kirkpatrick, "Over the Hedge," DreamWorks Animation

Directing, TV

Giancarlo Volpe, "Avatar" (The Drill), Nickelodeon

Music, Feature

Randy Newman, "Cars," Pixar Animation Studios

Music, TV

James L. Venable & Jennifer Kes Remington, "Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends" (One False Movie), Cartoon Networks Studios

Production Design, Feature

Pierre-Olivier Vincent, "Flushed Away," DreamWorks Animation & Aardman Features

Production Design, TV

Martin Ansolabehere, "Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends" (Good Wilt Hunting), Cartoon Network Studios

Storyboarding, Feature

Gary Graham, "Over the Hedge," DreamWorks Animation

Storyboarding, TV

Li Hong, "The X's" (You Only Sneeze Twice), Nickelodeon

Voice Acting, Feature

Ian McKellen, Voice of the Toad, "Flushed Away," DreamWorks Animation & Aardman Features

Voice Acting, TV

Eartha Kitt, Voice of Yzma, "The Emperor's New School" (Kuzclone), Walt Disney Television Animation

**Writing, Feature

**Dick Clement & Ian La Frenais, Chris Lloyd & Joe Keenan and Will Davies, "Flushed Away," DreamWorks Animation & Aardman Features

Writing, TV

Ian Maxtone-Graham, "The Simpsons" (The Seemingly Neverending Story), Gracie Films


Winsor McCay Award

Bill Plympton

Genndy Tartakovsky

Andreas Deja

**June Foray Award

**Stephen Worth

Certificate of Merit

Bill Matthews

Michael Fallik

Marc Deckter

Eric Graf

Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us