12 Years A Slave Rewarded At The Indie Spirit Awards

Dallas Buyers Club & more score gongs


Held as usual the day before the Academy Awards, the Independent Spirit Awards can sometimes be an Oscar pointer, but naturally this year omits some of the bigger budgeted studio films such as Gravity and American Hustle. On a waterlogged afternoon, however, it was 12 Years A Slave that triumphed, taking home five prizes.

Slave won Feature, Director for Steve McQueen, Screenplay for John Ridley, Supporting Female for Lupita Nyong'o and Cinematography for Sean Bobbitt. Male acting-wise, it was still Dallas Buyers Club’s day, with Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto continuing the run many say will take them to the stage of the Dolby Theater for the Oscars this evening.

Hosted by Patton Oswalt, who provided typically funny banter to fit between the awards, the show also saw wins for Cate Blanchett, Nebraska writer Bob Nelson, Short Term 12 editor Nat Sanders and the Best First Feature prize for Fruitvale Station. Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Feature

12 Years A Slave

All Is Lost
Frances Ha
 Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Director

Steve McQueen, *12 Years A Slave
Shane Carruth,
Upstream Color

J.C. Chandor,
All Is Lost

Jeff Nichols,
 Alexander Payne, Nebraska* 

Best Female Lead

Cate Blanchett, *Blue Jasmine**
Julie Delpy,
Before Midnight
Gaby Hoffmann,
Crystal Fairy

Brie Larson,
Short Term 12
Shailene Woodley,
The Spectacular Now*

Best Male Lead

Matthew McConaughey, *Dallas Buyers Club**
Bruce Dern,
Chiwetel Ejiofor,
12 Years A Slave

Oscar Isaac,
Inside Llewyn Davis

Michael B. Jordan,
Fruitvale Station

Robert Redford,
All Is Lost*

Best Screenplay

John Ridley, *12 Years A Slave

Woody Allen,
Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater,
Before Midnight

Nicole Holofcener,
Enough Said

Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber,
The Spectacular Now

Best Supporting Female

Lupita Nyong'o, *12 Years a Slav*e
Melonie Diaz, Fruitvale Station

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

Yolonda Ross, Go For Sisters
June Squibb, Nebraska 

Best Supporting Male
Jared Leto, *Dallas Buyers Club* Michael Fassbender, 12 Years A Slave
Will Forte, Nebraska
 James Gandolfini, Enough Said
 Keith Stanfield, Short Term 12

Best First Screenplay
Bob Nelson, Nebraska
Lake Bell, In A World
Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Don Jon

Jill Soloway, Afternoon Delight

Best Cinematography

Sean Bobbitt, *12 Years A Slave
Benoit Debie,
Spring Breakers
Bruno Delbonnel,
Inside Llewyn Davis

Frank G. Demarco,
All Is Lost
Matthias Grunsky,
Computer Chess


Best Editing
Nat Sanders, *Short Term 12

* Shane Carruth & David Lowery, Upstream Color
Jem Cohen & Marc Vives, Museum Hours
Frank G. Demarco, All Is Lost
Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess

Best Documentary

20 Feet From Stardom**, Director/Producer: Morgan Neville, Producers: Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers
* After Tiller, Directors/Producers: Martha Shane & Lana Wilson Gideon’s Army, Director/Producer: Dawn Porter, Producer: Julie Goldman The Act of Killing, Director/Producer: Joshua Oppenheimer, Producers: Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo
 The Square*, Director: Jehane Noujaim, Producer: Karim Amer

Best International Film

Blue is the Warmest Color** (France)
* A Touch Of Sin (China)
 Gloria (Chile) The Great Beauty (Italy)
 The Hunt *(Denmark)

Best First Feature 

Fruitvale Station*** Blue Caprice Concussion Una Noche Wadjda*

John Cassavetes Award
This is Martin Bonner
Computer Chess
Crystal Fairy
Museum Hours

Pit Stop