Up There

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Film Forums] >> Knowledge Base >> Up There Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Up There - 16/2/2013 9:52:35 PM   
Magenta

I've been carrying around a newspaper cutting since november 2012 with a review of this film called Up There.
It's a feature debut from writer/director Zam Salim who I must admit rings no bells with me and yet somehow the premise and tone of this film has caught my attention.
Martin ( Burn Gorman) who's Buster Keaton style ( so the clipping says) performance is perfectly attuned to the central role.
Our "hero" is killed in a car crash only to discover that the afterlife is rather dull,later he meets chirpy Rash ( Aymen Hamdouchi) and is assigned a role as a carer for the newly deceased and sent to a resort in search of a runaway.
Have I sold it to you ?
I havn't been able to find a screening anywhere and I am lucky enough to have a local arts centre who usually deliver as well as two local independant cinemas who I quite often can depend on but to date no joy.
maybe it's a straight to dvd ?
So the question is has anyone heard of this film? and at best even seen it?
yours in anticipation ...

“If you die first, I am definitely going to eat you, but the question is, if I die, what are you going to do? Bon appétit... Eat or die. "

Post #: 1
RE: Up There - 16/2/2013 10:02:00 PM   
elab49

I think it might only have been shown in Glasgow as it was filmed around here - the GFF last year I think, and in the cinema late last year.

You are, however, in luck

http://www.glasgowfilm.org/player/4414_up_there

this is where I saw it - it's one of the curated films on the GFT Player.

Lips Together and Blow - blogtasticness and Glasgow Film Festival GFF13!

quote:

ORIGINAL: Deviation] LIKE AMERICA'S SWEETHEARTS TOO. IT MADE ME LAUGH A LOT AND THOUGHT IT WAS WITTY. ALSO I FEEL SLOWLY DYING INSIDE. I KEEP AGREEING WITH ELAB.

Annual Poll 2013 - All Lists Welcome