Register  |   Log In  |  
Follow us on   
Search   
Forum Home Register for Free! Log In Moderator Tickets FAQ Users Online

RE: The Raid

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Film Forums] >> Favourite Films >> RE: The Raid Page: <<   < prev  1 2 [3]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: The Raid - 29/1/2013 1:58:13 PM   
MonsterCat

quote:

ORIGINAL: Timon

I watched the Blu Ray last night and is it just me, or is the picture quite bad? I can't be sure as I recently got a new plasma TV and I'm getting used to it.

There's quite a few scenes where it does look a tad wonky, but I put that down to compression more than anything else.

I tried some films to contrast and compare and they looked just fine.

"I am a writer, a doctor, a nuclear physicist and a theoretical philosopher. But above all, I am a man, a hopelessly inquisitive man, just like you."

Films watched in 2013

(in reply to Timon)
Post #: 61
RE: The Raid - 29/1/2013 2:53:05 PM   
Cool Breeze

I watched it on dvd recently and it looked fine.Another case where the dvd is a better watch than the blu ray.

'' Iv played Oskar Schindler, Michael Collins, Rob Roy Mcgregor, even ZEUS for gods sake! No one is going to believe me to be a green grocer! ''

(in reply to MonsterCat)
Post #: 62
RE: The Raid - 29/1/2013 3:19:10 PM   
paulyboy

The Blu-Ray is representative of the source, it's a very low budget, intentionally grimey looking film shot digitally in low light, it was never going to pop off the screen. That said, I'd still expect it to outshine the DVD in overall detail, colour reproduction and black levels. If anyone thinks the DVD looks "better" though, be my guest.

"Pain heals, chicks dig scars, glory lasts forever!"

(in reply to Cool Breeze)
Post #: 63
RE: The Raid - 29/1/2013 4:25:19 PM   
Whistler

On a different note, if you're interested in following it, Mr. Evans is currently tweeting daily updates of the Berandal shoot.

(in reply to paulyboy)
Post #: 64