Register  |   Log In  |  
Follow us on   
Search   
Forum Home Register for Free! Log In Moderator Tickets FAQ Users Online

THE GREY

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Film Forums] >> Favourite Films >> THE GREY Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
THE GREY - 27/1/2012 11:14:40 PM   
Snake-Eyes

I'm not good at writing reviews (and hopefully, someday my compadre evil bill will do the honours here) - I just got back from watching Joe Carnahan's 'Man-vs-Nature' thriller, THE GREY.

Good stuff man! This is Mr. Carnahan returning to the bleak and harsh type of story-telling that made NARC so special, even though this is obviously a very different type of film. From the opening shot, the tone is established and the audience knows what type of ride to expect. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson may not be as bad-a$$ as he was in TAKEN but still very believable as 'Ottway', a man who is thrust into these extreme survival circumstances and is called upon to lead a group of plane crash survivors across a snowy landscape. Now, the wolves themselves - I liked the way they are ever-present but not always shown. I don't wanna ruin it for those who haven't seen it just yet but it was a great film to kick off my cinema-going year.

I have one wee criticism - the scene that you wanted to see the MOST in the film... isn't in the film. That's all I'll say

< Message edited by Snake-Eyes -- 27/1/2012 11:15:39 PM >

"When you have to shoot, shoot don't talk."

http://www.expendablespremiere.com/index.html
Post #: 1
RE: THE GREY - 28/1/2012 10:45:57 AM   
Whistler

Can I take a wild guess that the scene in question involves broken bottles strapped to certain appendages? I might be seeing this today, looking forward to it!

(in reply to Snake-Eyes)
Post #: 2
RE: THE GREY - 28/1/2012 1:39:33 PM   
DazDaMan

I still really want to see this!