Register  |   Log In  |  
Follow us on   
Search   
Forum Home Register for Free! Log In Moderator Tickets FAQ Users Online

RE: Summing it up for me

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Film Forums] >> DVD Club >> RE: Summing it up for me Page: <<   < prev  4 5 [6] 7 8   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Summing it up for me - 7/3/2006 2:54:15 PM   
niallon

Noob here but I'm a huge Carpenter fan. With five pages already my opinions will probably just be repitition but if I may. I think John Carpenter has to be one of the finest directors of the 70's and 80's as most in this thread would agree. Though having seen Cigarette Burns I'd have to disagree with the sentiment that he has lost it. I did carry this sentiment after Ghosts Of Mars but to see him direct a simpler, and ironically, more "ghost story/myth" type piece, and still get it right is quite reassuring. Cigarette Burns is a great piece, though I could have done with a different leading man, just didn't work for me. The story is more old school IMO and Carpenter's direction when not working with hot new things and instead woirking with more mature actors or at least less young ones is fantastic. The most shocking thing was how the TV element of the episode went out the window when I was watching it. I watched Argento's Jennifer and though quite good I could still smell the TV element from it, most notably due to the superior score provided by Carpenter Jr, Cody Carpenter. Cigarette Burns is an atmospheric, " as good as a TV show can be" piece.

niallon

(in reply to stuartbannerman)
Post #: 151
RE: Summing it up for me - 7/3/2006 4:46:56 PM   
Companero

quote:

But i like to think of John  Carpenter as a "i dont care if they make money, i just love making movies" sort of film maker. And more power to him for that.

That would be a great sentiment if he still made films for the majority of his fans to enjoy, but he doesn't.

Post #: 152