Register  |   Log In  |  
Follow us on   
Search   
Forum Home Register for Free! Log In Moderator Tickets FAQ Users Online

RE: We Will Remember Them

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [On Another Note...] >> Off Topic >> RE: We Will Remember Them Page: <<   < prev  1 [2] 3 4   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: We Will Remember Them - 12/11/2007 12:47:48 PM   
homersimpson_esq

quote:

ORIGINAL: Empitomezzo

That's a beautiful poem.

Isn't it just? I never realised that the extract (emboldened in the OP) read at the Remembrance Service was from a longer poem - I thought it was something written for the service. I was googling for the exact passage and found the whole poem.

There are some amazing stories here - Harry, you must be so proud of your grandfather. I'm no less proud of my grandad for his work as a miner - that new BBC series CoalHouse highlights how bad conditions were - but it must have taken a special sort of person to not only go out to war, but prove themselves so brilliantly while out there.

That deep-browed Homer ruled as his demesne.

Bristol Bad Film Club
A place where movie fans can come and behold some of the most awful films ever put to celluloid.

(in reply to Empitomezzo)
Post #: 31
RE: We Will Remember Them - 12/11/2007 12:50:44 PM   
Peppermint

There's a programme on Channel 4 tonight at 10pm about servicemen that came back and their experiences of coming home (I've explained that badly, as usual).

Anyway, I thought people might be interested in watching it.

"Dr Jackson's gonna die when he sees this."

"What, again?"

(in reply to homersimpson_esq)
Post #: 32
RE: We Will Remember Them - 11/11/2008 12:05:07 AM   
homersimpson_esq

We will remember them.

Bristol Bad Film Club
A place where movie fans can come and behold some of the most awful films ever put to celluloid.

(in reply to Peppermint)
Post #: 33
RE: We Will Remember Them - 11/11/2008 12:17:38 AM   
Donnie Murdo