Register  |   Log In  |  
Sign up to our weekly newsletter    
Search   
Empire Magazine and iPad
Follow Me on Pinterest YouTube Tumblr
Empire
Trending On Empire
Empire's New Tom Cruise Cover
The Jameson Empire Awards 2014
Vote: The Greatest 301 Movies Of All Time!
Rebecca Hall:
My Movie Life

The actress picks the movies that shaped her
Mountain Dew Green Screen
Register Now to see X-MEN First Class!
Features

The 100 Movies You Should See In 2014
Empire's preview of the year to come


There's a lot of chatter about the gigantic year that is 2015, but don't put yourself into suspended animation just yet. 2014 may not come wreathed in gigantic sequels (although it has a few) or boasting the return of a world-conquering space opera (although it may launch its own), but it has a wealth of original properties, exciting action and - hopefully - hilarious comedy. We profile the 100 best-looking prospects of the year for your edification.

WORDS HELEN O'HARA

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  1 of 10 Next

1

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY: THE MARKED ONES

Release date: January 1
Director: Christopher Landon
Cast: Andrew Jacobs, Richard Cabral, Carlos Pratts, Gabrielle Walsh, Molly Ephraim

Plot: A woman dies in what appears to be a black magic ritual. Her upstairs neighbours head down to investigate, and one, Jesse (Jacobs) soon discovers an inhuman bite on his arm as strange forces begin to surround him. This probably isn't good news for anyone nearby.

Looks like: It should be another scary entry for the found footage franchise, even though it's a spin-off from the main series, so avoid if you're of a nervous disposition – especially the bit shown in the trailer involving things coming out of eyeballs. The latest entry in that, Paranormal Activity 5, is also out next year, on October 24.

 

2

LAST VEGAS

Release date: January 3
Director: Jon Turteltaub
Cast: Robert De Niro, Michael Douglas, Morgan Freeman, Kevin Kline, Mary Steenbergen

Plot: As perennial bachelor Billy (Douglas) decides to marry a woman 30 years his junior, his old friends Paddy (De Niro), Archie (Freeman) and Sam (Kline) head to Sin City to see him off in style. But Archie's health is a worry, Paddy's nursing old grudges and Sam has a condom that he's determined to use...

Looks like: The plot may be as predictable as your grandad's taste in slippers, but it's obvious that there's chemistry between the quartet, who are all capable of doing this sort of breezy comedy in their sleep (maybe they did; they are getting on a bit). There should be some laughs too, mostly at the expense of the stars' advanced age.

 

3

MANDELA: LONG WALK TO FREEDOM

Release date: January 3
Director: Justin Chadwick
Cast: Idris Elba, Naomie Harris, Tony Kgoroge, Riaad Moosa, Zolani Mkiva

Plot: An adaptation of the late, great Nelson Mandela's autobiography, Long Walk To Freedom, this tells his life story from his days as a boy in the countryside to his election as President following the long struggle to end apartheid. Elba plays Mandela with Harris as his second wife, Winnie.

Looks like: It's a lot of history to get through in a relatively short running time, but with Elba and Harris both turning in great performances this serves as a good introduction for those who would like to know more about the leader following his recent passing.

4

DELIVERY MAN

Release date: January 10
Director: Ken Scott
Cast: Vince Vaughn, Chris Pratt, Cobie Smulders, Jack Reynor

Plot: A wastrel, David (Vaughn), discovers that 533 children fathered from his donated sperm are suing to discover his identity. He fights the action, while fending off thugs trying to collect a debt from him, as he deals with his lawyer Brett (Pratt) and pregnant girlfriend Emma (Smulders).

Looks like: Ken Scott's remaking his own French-Canadian hit here, which was little-seen in these parts but highly regarded at home. The character would seem like a good fit for Vaughn's speciality in man-children, and crucially doesn't treat arrested development as a loveable trait, so this should be a return to form for the actor – and Pratt's always good value for money.

 

5

THE RAILWAY MAN

Release date: January 1
Director: Jonathan Teplitzky
Cast: Colin Firth, Jeremy Irvine, Nicole Kidman, Hiroyuki Sanada, Stellan Skarsgard

Plot: 1980, and railway enthusiast Eric Lomax (Colin Firth) meets, loves and weds Patty (Nicole Kidman). But he is still suffering trauma from his experiences as a young man (Jeremy Irvine), taken prisoner by the Japanese during World War II, and Patty encourages him to confront the past once more, which brings him into contact with the man responsible for his captivity (Sanada).

Looks like: A thoroughly classy literary adaptation that has Firth, Kidman and Irvine all on good form, with the latter in particular justifying all that War Horse hype. Fans of Bridge On The River Kwai might appreciate this as a companion piece of sorts.

 

6

AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY

Release date: January 17
Director: John Wells
Cast: Meryl Streep, Julia Roberts, Chris Cooper, Benedict Cumberbatch, Ewan McGregor, Sam Shepard, Dermot Mulroney, Juliette Lewis, Abigail Breslin, Misty Upham

Plot: After patriarch Beverly (Shepard) goes missing, his wife Violet (Streep) and daughters (Roberts, Lewis, Julianne Nicholson) gather at the family home where drama ensues. It's all based on Tracy Letts' Pulitzer Prize-winning play, and adapted by the author himself.

Looks like: Check out that cast list – phwoar! We are contractually obliged to suggest that we hear the siren call of Oscars any time that Meryl Streep takes any job (even if she's a witch in Into The Woods) but that goes double when the film comes from such a respectably literary source and is loaded with supporting players this accomplished.

 

7

THE WOLF OF WALL STREET

Release date: January 17
Director: Martin Scorsese
Cast: Leonardo DiCaprio, Matthew McConaughey, Jonah Hill, Margot Robbie, Kyle Chandler, Jean Dujardin

Plot: Based on the memoirs of Jordan Belfont (DiCaprio), this is the story of a Wall Street criminal's meteoric rise and eventual fall. Expect yachts, champagne, dwarf tossing and all manner of bad behaviour as the FBI closes in, intent on shutting down the party.

Looks like: A blast! Scorsese seems to be emphasising the absurd in this tale, so those expecting GoodFellas with derivatives are likely to be disappointed. Those hoping to see Matthew McConaughey in an eye-catchingly eccentric supporting role or Kyle Chandler in a Fed suit trying to catch a flamboyant, hard-living DiCaprio, however, should be happy.

8

12 YEARS A SLAVE

Release date: January 24
Director: Steve McQueen
Cast: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, Lupita N'yongo, Benedict Cumberbatch, Sarah Paulson, Paul Dano, Alfre Woodard, Garret Dillahunt, Brad Pitt

Plot: 1841, and musician Solomon Northup (Ejiofor) is abducted while working in Washington DC and sold as a slave. For 12 years he is forced to labour in the antebellum South, all the while hoping to escape home to his family, under the control of slave owners who range from relatively benign (Cumberbatch) to dangerously unpredictable (Fassbender).

Looks like: A must-see. The scale is wider than McQueen's last two films, Hunger and Shame, but his focus is still on both the best and worst in human nature. Ejiofor is stunning in the lead, imbuing Northup with righteous outrage and desperate stoicism, and the director's regular star, Fassbender, is electrifyingly scary as a slave owner.

 

9

GRUDGE MATCH

Release date: January 24
Director: Peter Segal
Cast: Robert De Niro, Sylvester Stallone, Kim Bassinger, Alan Arkin, Kevin Hart, Jon Beranthal

Plot: Pittsburgh boxers Billy "The Kid" McDonnen (De Niro) and Henry "Razor" Sharp (Stallone) were all set to fight for the title when Razor retired the night before their big bout. 30 years later, with The Kid still trading on his fame and Razor back in the blue-collar world, they get a chance to settle the grudge at last.

Looks like: The pitch is a rather excitable "Raging Bull vs. Rocky!" which has considerable appeal, but given that the film is a comedy the tone won't match either of those giants of the genre. Still, we imagine there will be nostalgia value for fans of both, and boxing films are generally at least watchable.

 

10

INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS

Release date: January 24
Director: Joel Coen, Ethan Coen
Cast: Oscar Isaac, Carey Mulligan, John Goodman, Justin Timberlake, F. Murray Abraham

Plot: Folk singer Llewyn Davis (Isaacs) is effectively homeless, penniless and struggling to get by in 1960s New York. His own worst enemy, he crashes with friends like Jean (Mulligan) and Jim (Timberlake) and travels to Chicago for an audition with jazz musician Roland Turner (Goodman).

Looks like: Opinion is divided – as with most Coen films – as to whether this is utter genius or not quite as good as their most genius. Either way, everyone agrees that it has a haunting soundtrack and a riveting performance from Isaac, so even if you'd rather stick a fork in your eye than listen to folk generally, we recommend it.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  1 of 10 Next

Have Your Say
Register or login now to have your say.

Your Comments

1
Posted on Thursday February 13, 2014, 01:42 by rfreddricemer
Read More

2
Posted on Thursday February 13, 2014, 01:42 by rfreddricemer
Read More

3
Posted on Thursday February 13, 2014, 01:42 by rfreddricemer
Read More

4 what happened to At Any Price ? ?
Posted on Friday February 7, 2014, 17:35 by bill the butcher
AT ANY PRICE dennis quaid Read More

5
Posted on Friday January 31, 2014, 17:18 by sam_creighton
Where's Howard Hawks and Cary Grant?! Bringing Up Baby, Only Angels Have Wings and His Girl Friday should surely be enough by themselves, you have a fantastic screwball comedy, a hilariously witty comedy and then a moving drama. Plus you also have I Was A Male War Bride and Monkey Business. Read More

6 RE: RE:
Posted on Thursday January 23, 2014, 09:25 by waltham1979
L: artaylor It says 5 for Herzog and Kinski. Scorsese and De Niro: Mean Streets, Taxi Driver; New York, New York; Raging Bull, King of Comedy, Goodfellas, Cape Fear, Casino. 8 total. Looks like you are the one who is the shoddy researcher. t says notable parings; not every film they have done together. Looks like you are the one who cannot read. Read More

7 Worth mentioning...
Posted on Thursday January 23, 2014, 06:06 by TheSomnambulist
Jean Pierre Jeunet and Dominique Pinon. Delicatessen, City of the Lost Children, Alien Resurrection, Amelie, A Very Long Engagement, and Mic Macs. Clearly Jean Pierre likes to have Dominique around... So thought it worth a mention. Also Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg. Cool article though. Read More

8 Good List, But you're missing...
Posted on Thursday January 23, 2014, 00:17 by Darren47
Wes Anderson and Jason Schwartzman. Sure, Murray has been present in most Wes Anderson films. But if there had to be one, It would be Schwartzman because he is more fond in his movies. The Coens have many noticable collabs. But one of there most noticable is John Goodman, you forgot to add him. What about Quentin Tarantino and Samuel L Jackson? How could you forget them? Also, No Verbirnski/Depp? C'mon, They did everything together! Like the first 3 Pirates of the Carribeen Movies, Rango, And (ahem) The Lone Ranger. That's all I have to say. Otherwise, good list! Read More

9 RE:
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 22:29 by artaylor
It says 5 for Herzog and Kinski. Scorsese and De Niro: Mean Streets, Taxi Driver; New York, New York; Raging Bull, King of Comedy, Goodfellas, Cape Fear, Casino. 8 total. Looks like you are the one who is the shoddy researcher. Read More

10 david mccallum
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 16:22 by boboshambles
What about christopher nolan and cilian murphy??? Read More

11 The Coens & Frances McDormand / Steve Buscemi /JOHN GOODMAN
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 16:15 by mmmoynihan
John Goodman's Coen performances are some of the most memorable of his career and their movies Read More

12 Missing
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 15:08 by BrigittaR
I thought I'm gong to find Joe Wright - Keira Knightley in this list. Hmm Read More

13 RE:
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 14:40 by waltham1979
L: Anthony Lynch Adam McKay and Will Ferrell have done way more than 3 movies. FIX THIS NOW. t says notable parings; not every film they have done together. FIXED. Read More

14 some other greatss who missed out of a top 50 spot or were overlooked
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 14:26 by ikhlaq33
few duos who deserved but didnt make the list clint eastwood/morgan freeman .. richard donner/mel gibson...tony scott/denzel washington .. Read More

15 Apologies
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 14:20 by Ali Plumb
A couple of my edits didn't go through on this. It's all been tweaked now (hopefully). If you spot anything else, let me know... Read More

16
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 13:05 by Anthony Lynch
Adam McKay and Will Ferrell have done way more than 3 movies. FIX THIS NOW. Read More

17 Again?
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 13:05 by gregorybreen
You guys I have done this before and yet again you still leave out Neil Jordan and Stephen Rea? Read More

18
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 13:03 by Anthony Lynch
Warner Herzog and Klaus Kinski were together in 5 movies: Aguirre, Woyzeck, Nosferatu, Fitzcarraldo, and Cobra Verde, not 7. And Bobby De Niro and Martin Scorsese have done 7 films together, not 8. Shoddily edited and researched list, not even updated for Penelope Cruz together with Johnny Depp again, in the past tense. Read More

19 Christopher Nolan and Michael Caine?
Posted on Wednesday January 22, 2014, 08:54 by TPM007
Surely that's stronger than the Christian Bale partnership - he's been in more hit Nolan films than him, and even more if you count Interstellar Read More

20
Posted on Sunday January 19, 2014, 10:19 by nsoberanismaria
Read More

21
Posted on Sunday January 19, 2014, 10:19 by nsoberanismaria
Read More

22
Posted on Sunday January 19, 2014, 10:19 by nsoberanismaria
Read More

23
Posted on Tuesday January 14, 2014, 11:49 by staypuft2
Provided it's released next year (and there's a chance it won't be I suppose) PTA's "Inherent Vice" is the must see film for me. Alongside that Coen's "Inside Llewyn Davis", Jonze's "Her" Scorsese's "Wolf of Wall Street" Wes Anderson's "Grand Budapest Hotel" and Ayoade's "The Double" are the movies I simply cannot miss. A lot of big, decent director's with films out this year, should be a good'un Read More

24 RE:
Posted on Sunday January 12, 2014, 17:23 by Tremendous_Ed
John Duigan has promised a third part to Year My Voice Broke trilogy that also included Flirting this year. Although it has been joked the Red Dog was actually the 3rd one. Read More

25
Posted on Saturday January 11, 2014, 12:49 by raven_girl
Another thing according to this list and I've also read it elsewhere that Captain America, The Muppets:Most Wanted and Noah are all opening on the same day, I find that very hard to believe, almost certain that the release dates of at least one of these films will be changed Read More

26
Posted on Saturday January 11, 2014, 12:46 by raven_girl
Gees, just looking from the first 10, only 3 I want to see and one I've seen which is 12 years a slave, the fact that the new paranormal activity film and Last Vegas is on that list means you must have been really struggling to find 100 films Read More

27
Posted on Saturday January 11, 2014, 01:16 by dansator
The only people who will watch all 100 of those movies are the Empire staff, but thanks for the recommendations anyway. I counted 9 films in the list that I'll definitely see and 5 maybe's, but since I have a Cineworld unlimited card I'll probably see a few more in the list. Read More

28 RE: Midnight Special!
Posted on Thursday January 9, 2014, 00:28 by Cat Lady
The 2014 Movie I am looking forward to the most is The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1. Read More

29 Midnight Special!
Posted on Wednesday January 8, 2014, 17:09 by Nicky C
Because Jeff Nichols is my boy! Also, if it's released in time, Metalhead by Derek Cianfrance. Place Beyond the Pines broke my heart as much as Blue Valentine. What a talent! Read More

30
Posted on Wednesday January 8, 2014, 16:49 by BiancaTheMuggle
I can't wait for Divergent and The Fault in Our Stars, both are in my top three books and I trust Woodley to portray both Hazel and Tris brilliantly. Read More

31 RE: Anyone got any ketchup ?
Posted on Monday January 6, 2014, 13:56 by Timon
No Man From UNCLE? Read More

32 Anyone got any ketchup ?
Posted on Sunday January 5, 2014, 19:05 by danielthompson99
Personally, I can't wait for Eli Roth's The Green Inferno. I love Roth's work. I hadn't seen a cannibal movie before, and since hearing about this have watched the classics which he will obviously be referencing. Can't wait. Read More

33
Posted on Sunday January 5, 2014, 15:38 by Darren47
Sorry O'Hara, I'm from the U.S. that's why Read More

34 2014 - The Year of the Chris
Posted on Sunday December 29, 2013, 21:33 by union_jak
I've lost count of how many movies Chris O'Dowd, Christoph Waltz and Chris Pratt are starring in over 2014. Chris Pratt even has TWO films released on the same day! (14th February). Are we going to be seeing too much of the three Chris'? Read More

35 RE:
Posted on Sunday December 29, 2013, 20:41 by Helen OHara
L: Darren47 There is going to be a Maze Runner Movie?? Didn't know that, And I feel you're missing a movie here, Disney's animation Big Hero 6. ig Hero 6 is now slated for release in the UK in 2015, so I'm afraid we have to wait a little longer for that. However, there are also movies we couldn't find room for or which currently seem like they might drop to the following year. Read More

36
Posted on Saturday December 28, 2013, 14:54 by Darren47
There is going to be a Maze Runner Movie?? Didn't know that, And I feel you're missing a movie here, Disney's animation Big Hero 6. Read More

37 12 years a slave REVIEW
Posted on Saturday December 28, 2013, 13:31 by bill the butcher
read it here ..... http://www.empireonline.com/futurefilms/film.asp?id=137 657 Read More


CURRENT HIGHLIGHTS
Ten Things To Know About The Spooks Movie
Under the hood of The Greater Good

Who’s In Spider-Man’s Sinister Six?
A bluffer’s guide to the planned spin-off from the Amazing Spider-films

14 YouTube Videos Every Game Of Thrones Fan Should Have Watched By Now
From goats singing the theme tune to every death in under three minutes

Hollywood's Biggest Names On Their Favourite Films
Stars and directors like Nolan, Whedon, Wright and Ford on the films that inspire them

The Remake Report: Hollywood's Do-Overs Coming Our Way
The redoes, remakes, reboots, reworkings and reimaginings headed our way…

The Nebraska Playlist
Alexander Payne programmes a movie marathon for us

More Found Footage: Another 25 Trailers That Tease Missing Scenes
Further sequences that disappeared between promo and final cut

Subscribe to Empire iPad edition
Get The Empire iPad Edition Today

Subscribe and save money on annual digital subscription

Subscribe today
Buy single issues

Subscribe to Empire magazine
Get Limited Edition Collectable X-Men Art Cards

Subscribe today and get 6 issues of Empire plus a set of collectable X-Men Art Cards for only £20!

Subscribe today

Get 12 Issues Of Empire For Just £25
Receive limited edition subscribers-only covers every month Subscribe today!
Empire's Film Studies 101 Series
Everything you ever wanted to know about filmmaking but were afraid to ask...
The Empire iPad Edition
With exclusive extras, interactive features, trailers and much more! Download now
Home  |  News  |  Blogs  |  Reviews  |  Future Films  |  Features  |  Interviews  |  Images  |  Competitions  |  Forum  |  iPad  |  Podcast  |  Magazine Contact Us  |  Empire FAQ  |  Subscribe To Empire  |  Register
© Bauer Consumer Media Ltd  |  Legal Info  |  Privacy Policy  |  Bauer Entertainment Network
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd (company number 01176085 and registered address 1 Lincoln Court, Lincoln Road, Peterborough, England PE1 2RF)